First Impression Friday- The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

First Impression Friday is hosted by J.W. Martin.

First Impression Friday will be a meme where you talk about a book that you JUST STARTED! Maybe you’re only a chapter or two in, maybe a little farther.

Based on this sampling of your current read, give a few impressions and predict what you’ll think by the end.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

35967101

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle has been sitting on my shelves unread since it was published. This is why I am so grateful to book clubs because they give me an excuse to pick up books that I may never actually prioritize.

Related image

I did not expect to become so invested in this book! I knew from the map at the beginning of the book that this was my kind of mystery. I love a good whodunit with a lot of characters and different twists and turns. I appreciate that this is a mystery with a twist. It can be confusing at time and I keep having to refer back to the list of characters, but I am having such a good time with it.

I am really impressed with Turton’s writing so far. It would be so easy for this story to go off the rails, but so far it works. Everything is just so clever and I am blown away!

I do want to say that I know this book will not be for everyone. I am a HUGE fan of magical realism, which I know a lot of readers do not enjoy. If that is this case, I think I would skip this one.

kkbLogo

22 thoughts on “First Impression Friday- The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

  1. I always have a huge feeling of dread seeing people talk about this book as I think it’s my one of favourite books of all time. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it and I hope it continues for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Currently listening to the same book in Audible . I just got to know that the book comes with a map – thanks for posting it 🙂
    I am 2 / 3 rds through the book and hopefully will finish it this week . Looking forward to reading your review too ( mine will be up in my blog next week ) .
    A new book of Turton has released this year . Looking forward to getting my hands on it once we are back to normal here in India . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s