Black Friday Book Outlet Haul

img_20171210_1315364.jpg

Can you believe this is my first book haul? I am always buying books but never this many at one time.  It just never crossed my mind to post a haul before, even though I really enjoy reading/watching other people’s hauls! I had to take advantage of the Black Friday deals on Book Outlet. These are all books that have been on my radar, and I am so thrilled that I purchased all nine of them for under $50!

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps.

So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember.

As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a tale of the ways in which the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton

Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance – but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet-star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever.

When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home–until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other–and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms, and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by the internationally bestselling Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter solstice or New Year’s, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Classic movie buff Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online by “Alex.” Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life – or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth – a.k.a. her new arch-nemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever-it-is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex . . . Approximately.

The Girl of the Lake by Bill Roorbach

Nine richly varied, often funny, always moving stories that reveal the complex workings of the human heart. 

Roorbach’s characters are unforgettable: among them an adventurous boy who learns what courage really is when an aging nobleman recounts history to him; a couple hiking through the mountains whose vacation and relationship ends catastrophically; a teenager being pursued by three sisters all at once; a tech genius who exacts revenge on his wife and best friend over a stolen kiss from years past. These moving and funny stories are as rich in scope, emotional, and memorable as Bill Roorbach’s novels.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters – in her faith and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp – one for troubled kids – Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.


So that is my haul! I have already read two of these books this week and enjoyed them both. I will tell you more about that on Wednesday!

Untitled design (18)

Advertisements

38 thoughts on “Black Friday Book Outlet Haul

  1. What a great book haul! I have Salt to the Sea on my wishlist as well and I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about that one. I also have The Names They Gave Us but with a different cover. I actually didn’t know anything about the book but fell for the glittery cover.. a case of cover love. I’m also very interested in hearing what you think of that one, I do hope it’s great inside and out :-). I’ve never heard of that last one before but it sounds really good. Must keep my eyes open to hear more about that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great book haul!! I did a Black Friday order from them as well. My book haul is going up toward the end of the month though. I borrowed Salt to the Sea from my Library last year and I really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this is a great book haul, so many great books! I really want to read Tiny Pretty Things and Alex, Approximately, both sound pretty amazing 🙂 I read and really liked Bone Gap, it was a weird book, but quite captivating. I hope you’ll love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great book haul! I own The Name they Gave Us and The Smell of Other’s People House but haven’t read them yet! I need to stop buying books and just read mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That is a very impressive haul for $50! I’ve only heard of a few of those titles, and can only remember reading a review for My True Love Gave To Me–which was apparently great. I’ll be curious to see your thoughts on some of these other ones as your reviews roll in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s